WNBA names 2019 All Star Game starters; captains are Delle Donne, Wilson

The best of the best

The WNBA announced the ten players who will be starters in this summer’s WNBA All Star Game this afternoon, including captains A’ja Wilson and Elena Delle Donne, during a broadcast of ESPN’s “The Jump” Thursday afternoon.

The starters include the two captains, along with: Liz Cambage, Chelsea Gray, Brittney Griner, Natasha Howard, Jonquel Jones, Jewell Loyd, Kayla McBride and Kia Nurse.

The starters were selected through voting from fans, WNBA players themselves, and WNBA media members. Fan votes were worth, collectively, 50%, while player votes were worth 25%, as were media votes. Media were permitted to vote for four guards and six frontcourt players. As for players, interestingly, they were allowed to vote for themselves.

The All Star reserves will be selected by the WNBA coaches, and that group will be announced on Monday, July 15. Coaches can vote for all but their own players, selecting three guards, five frontcourt players and four others at any position.

The WNBA announced Las Vegas Aces head coach Bill Laimbeer and Washington Mystics head coach Mike Thibault would serve as head coaches for the game.

The game will take place on Saturday, July 27 at the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas. The three-point contest, won the last two years by Allie Quigley, will return, as will a new skills competition.

Asked about All Star weekend this past Sunday, Aces center Liz Cambage told reporters following the Las Vegas win over the New York Liberty: “Yeah, I’m very excited. All Star is going to be very fun, even if I don’t make it. I’ll be hanging around Vegas for the weekend. There’s a lot happening. But, you know, we’ve got a few more games to worry about before I start focusing on All Star Weekend.”

Love our 24/7 women’s basketball coverage? Join our Patreon now and support this work, while getting extra goodies and subscriber-only content for yourself.

Load Comments