Atlantic 10 Conference Preseason Poll: Dayton tapped as top team

The Atlantic 10 Conference released the 2017-18 preseason poll today and Dayton University selected to repeat as conference champions. The announcement coincided with Media Day, Preseason All-Conference awards were also released.

In her first season as head coach, Shauna Green led the Flyers to a 22-10 record en route to the second conference title in Flyers history. Green was named the WBCA Rookie Coach of the Year for her orchestration of a successful season.

Dayton senior Jenna Burdette was named the 2017 A-10 Championship Most Outstanding Player, she was also named to the A-10 preseason all-conference first team.  Redshirt senior Alex Harris was named to the All-Conference Defensive Team.

Saint Joseph’s led all Atlantic 10 teams with two players named to the All-Conference Teams. Seniors Chelsea Woods and Adashia Franklyn were named to the first-team and second-team, respectively.

The full preseason team ranks and awards are as follows:

  1. Dayton
  2. Saint Louis
  3. St. Joseph’s
  4. Duquesne
  5. Fordham
  6. George Washington
  7. La Salle
  8. George Mason
  9. Richmond
  10. Massachusetts
  11. VCU
  12. St. Bonaventure
  13. Rhode Island
  14. Davidson

Preseason Awards

All-Conference First Team

  • Jenna Burdette, Dayton Sr. G/F
  • G’mrice Davis, Fordham Sr. F
  • Amy Griffin, La Salle Sr. G/F
  • Chelsea Woods, Saint Joseph’s Sr. G/F
  • Jackie Kemph, Saint Louis Sr. G

All-Conference Second Team

  • Justine Lyon, Davidson Jr. G
  • Hailey Leidel, Massachusetts So. G/F
  • Charise Wilson, Rhode Island Sr. G
  • Mariah Ruff, St. Bonaventure Sr. G
  • Adashia Franklyn, Saint Joseph’s Sr. F

All-Conference Third Team

  • Chassidy Omogrosso, Duquesne Jr. G
  • Julijana Vojinovic, Duquesne Jr. G
  • Natalie Butler*, George Mason GS. C
  • Maggie Mulligan, Massachusetts Sr. C
  • Jordyn Frantz, Saint Louis Jr. G

*Butler is a graduate student transfer from the University of Connecticut.

All-Conference Defensive Team

  • Alex Harris Dayton R-Sr. F/C
  • Conor Richardson Duquesne Jr. G
  • G’Mrice Davis Fordham Sr. F
  • Brianna Cummings George Washington Sr. G
  • Adashia Franklyn Saint Joseph’s Sr. F