Review finds Clarendon one assist short of historic triple-double

ATLANTA, GA - JULY 25: Layshia Clarendon
ATLANTA, GA - JULY 25: Layshia Clarendon /

Yesterday, The Summitt was on-hand for history in the making!  The only problem is, the league is now saying it never happened.  The league issued the following statement via Twitter:

One assist was removed from Clarendon’s stat line last night, eliminating her from a milestone only five players have reached.  Imani Boyette of the Chicago Sky was not feeling the final stats line.  The official correction came during an in-game play review.  The Atlanta Dream organization has made no statement about the updated ruling.

Last night, Clarendon herself seemed shocked to find out she made history (or didn’t).  She didn’t feel she played well enough for a near triple-double. Atlanta finishing off the Mercury 99-91 in overtime is what Clarendon wanted to celebrate.  “I’m most happy about the win,”  said Clarendon in a postgame interview.  It was a win the Dream felt they needed.

More from High Post Hoops

“It was our defense,” said Clarendon about the change in the third quarter.  Considering the Mercury already had 56 points at the half, solid defense was a huge factor in Atlanta getting an overtime win while keeping the Mercury’s points.  Including overtime, the Mercury scored only 35 points.  The Atlanta Dream scored 30 points in the third quarter alone.

Although Clarendon didn’t make history last night, the lessons learned by her and the Dream might be the true highlight of the overtime game.  The Dream return to action Friday night as they lost the Minnesota Lynx, an immediate test of Atlanta’s ability to correct mental and physical errors that plagued the team in the first half.