Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame induction ceremony postponed

The 2020 induction ceremony will now take place in 2021

The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame 2020 Induction Ceremony, scheduled for June 13, 2020, has been postponed and rescheduled for June 12, 2021 due to the spread and severity of the COVID-19 pandemic, the organization announced Tuesday. The Hall of Fame itself remains temporarily closed due to the global health crisis and all events scheduled through April 4 have been postponed or canceled.

As a result, the members of the class of 2020 — including the 2020 Trailblazers of the Game recipient, the 1980 U.S. Women’s Olympic Basketball Team — will now become the class of 2021.

The class of 2021 includes:

Debbie Brock, a three-time national champion with Delta State University (1975, 1976, 1977) in the Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women.

Carol Callan, the current USA Basketball’s Women’s National Team Director, overseeing six straight Olympic gold-winning teams.

Swin Cash, a former WNBA champion with the Detroit Shock (2003, 2006) and the Seattle Storm (2010). Cash won two NCAA championships with UConn and was a two-time Olympic gold medalist with the U.S. She currently serves as the vice president of basketball operations and team development for the New Orleans Pelicans.

Tamika Catchings, a former WNBA MVP (2011) and WNBA Champion with the Indiana Fever (2012). Catchings also won the 1998 NCAA championship with the University of Tennessee and was a four-time Olympic gold medalist with the U.S. She is currently the general manager of the Fever.

Sue Donohoe, the former vice president of NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball (2003 to 2012) and previously served as the director of both the men’s and women’s NCAA Division I Basketball Championships.

Lauren Jackson, three-time WNBA MVP (2003, 2007, 2010) and two-time WNBA champion with Seattle (2004 and 2010). She also won three silver medals and one bronze at the Olympics for Australia’s national team.

Carol Stiff, ESPN’s current vice president for programming and acquisitions with an emphasis on NCAA women’s basketball, the WNBA and other women’s sports. Stiff also launched Jimmy V Week and the Kay Yow Cancer Fund.

Though the date has been pushed back, the women will still be honored in Knoxville, Tennessee on June 12, 2021.

Love our 24/7 women’s basketball coverage? Join our Patreon now and support this work, while getting extra goodies and subscriber-only content for yourself.

Load Comments