WNBA All-Star 2017: Sue Bird, Maya Moore among three-point contest participants

LOS ANGELES, CA - MAY 15: Sue Bird
LOS ANGELES, CA - MAY 15: Sue Bird /

After an eight-year hiatus, the three-point contest returns to the WNBA All-Star festivities this Saturday, July 21. Becky Hammon won the competition in 2009, making her the reigning champion three years after her retirement.

The league announced that the contest will consist of two timed rounds. The six participants will fire from five spots along the three-point arc in the opening round. Four of five racks will consist of four WNBA balls (each worth one point) and one “money” ball (worth two points). A fifth “all money ball” rack can be placed at any of the five locations by each participant. Every ball on the money rack is worth two points. The players have one minute to shoot all 25 balls. The top three scorers move to the championship round.

The WNBA partnered with the WNBAPA to offer a $10,000 prize to be donated to the charity of the winner’s choice. The participants and their respective charities can be found below:

  • Sue Bird (Seattle Storm), The Moyer Foundation
  • Maya Moore (Minnesota Lynx), Win With Justice
  • Allie Quigley (Chicago Sky), The Patrick Quigley Memorial Scholarship
  • Sugar Rodgers (New York Liberty), Hopey’s Heart Foundation
  • Jasmine Thomas (Connecticut Sun), St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

The remainder of the All-Star rosters will be announced Tuesday evening during the ESPN2 telecast of the Chicago Sky at Seattle Storm at 9 p.m. ET.