Milestone watch: WNBA coaching totals to watch in 2019

5 of 12

Curt Miller (Connecticut Sun)

Record: 56-46 (102 games coached)

Curt Miller enters his fourth season in Uncasville with two 20-win seasons, the second coach in franchise history to lead the team for four seasons, also the second with multiple 20-win seasons. In both cases, he is behind only Mike Thibault, now coach for the Washington Mystics.

He starts 2019 in 24th place in both games coached (102) and wins (56). In both cases, he is tied with a former coach in the league. Steven Key also coached 102 games, and Nancy Darsch had 56 wins in her time.

After Miller breaks his tie with Key with his 103rd game, by the season’s end he can pass Nancy Darsch (110), Cheryl Miller (122), and Suzie McConnell Serio (125), and he can tie Brian Winters (136) in the final game of the regular season.

As far as wins are concerned, beyond earning win 57 and breaking his tie with Darsch, Miller can pass Carol Ross and Suzie McConnell Serio (58 each) and Cheryl Miller (70) in total wins. If the Sun are able to win at least 20 games, he’ll match Jenny Boucek’s total of 76, and other coaches within reach are Brian Winters (78) and Pat Coyle (81).